Moving On….

 

ChangeHello there!  I am checking in today to pass on the news that I will be closing down this blog at the end of the month.  I am leaving my current post in the Cotswolds for life in a more urban environment.

I recently wrote a short piece for the local newsletter and I’m reproducing it here because the sentiments expressed are equally meant for all you lovely people too.

Change.
Heraclitus, a Greek philosopher who lived about 500 years before the time of Jesus, is famous for saying, “No one steps into the same river twice,” or something very like it.
The idea, of course, is that nothing remains the same. A river is a flowing, ‘living’ thing that, over time channels its way through the landscape and shapes the surrounding land. Heraclitus’ observations and thoughts led him to believe that the only constant is change.
Everything changes. I wonder how you feel about that statement. You may or may not agree with it, of course, but how do you feel? If you are in difficult circumstances, you may well long for change. If you are ill, you surely want to get better. What if you’re in a comfortable, good place though? You may not welcome the idea of change. If life is good for you, change may be threatening.
Here’s an appalling joke: “How many Church-goers does it take to change a light-bulb?” answer: “Change????”
Yes, I know. The joke works because it plays on the stereotype of churches being old-fashioned, reactionary institutions that look back to the ‘good old days’ and are reluctant to embrace change in any form. The thing is though, churches do change. God may well be the same yesterday, today and forever, but God’s people are called to a life of challenge and change. If we are to be faithful to our vocation we need to grapple with the challenges that life in the 21st century throws at us.
Change is on my mind at the moment because I am about to leave Nailsworth to take up a new post in Bristol.  I face new challenges and change and so does Christ Church as it seeks a new minister.
As I leave, I would like to thank you all very much for reading my musings. It has been a privilege to be able to share with you. I have enjoyed my time in this part of the Cotswolds and to have been part of this lovely Town’s community.
May God bless you all as you continue your own life journeys of challenge and change.

 

This entry was posted in letter. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Moving On….

  1. Margaret says:

    I hope that you will start a new one!!!1

Leave a Reply

